I’m an all or nothing kind of girl.  I always have been.  I love something or I hate it.  I do something or I don’t.  There is no middle ground.

I like to make delicious, inexpensive, slave-over-the-stove-all-day meals.  And when I can’t, I don’t want to cook at all.

I like to clean the bathroom top to bottom so that you don’t just see your face in the mirror, you can see it in the floors and the shower walls!  And if I don’t have time for a 3 hour bathroom scrub-down (and with 2 kids 2 and under, who does?) I don’t bother to even touch it.  And then forget about even seeing your face in the mirror…

This mentality causes me to live my life proud of my accomplishments and guilty for my shortcomings.  You see, I somehow like to think of myself as being evaluated based on my merits.  In all honesty, if I was, it wouldn’t be a pretty picture.

Isaiah 64:6, “We have all become like one who is unclean,and all our righteous deeds are like a polluted garment.  We all fade like a leaf, and our iniquities, like the wind, take us away.”

Romans 3:22-25, “For there is no distinction: for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified by his grace as a gift, through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus, whom God put forward as a propitiation by his blood, to be received by faith.”

That second Scripture has the promise that I so quickly forget.  I am justified by His grace, as a gift.  I need to trust the redemption that is in Christ Jesus, not my own merits, which, quite frankly, are pretty lacking.

So when I read the concept that “something worth doing is worth doing halfway,” it really hit home.  Not just as a new household management idea, but as a way to apply the knowledge that I am not justified before God by what I do or don’t do.  I’m justified by the blood of His Son.  While it matters to Him that I’m in the business of serving my family, He doesn’t think of me any better or worse based on the types of dinners I make or how clean my bathroom is.  He looks at me and sees the righteousness of Jesus.

I’m on a journey to learn how to glorify God by serving my family.  And usually that is through doing a whole lot of things halfway.  You probably will never see your reflection in my bathroom tiles, and you might occasionally get a Hamburger Helper supper, and now and then you’ll have to move the junk to walk across the living room floor.  The coupons might be in a pile today instead of organized by category and expiration date, and I might have a boatload of laundry to put away.

Won’t you join me as a juggle motherhood, housework, bargain-hunting, marriage, and most-importantly, trusting Jesus and His work on the cross for me?

