alone

“Heaven is not here, it’s There.  If we were given all we wanted here, our hearts would settle for this world rather than the next.  God is forever luring us up and away from this one, wooing us to Himself and His still invisible Kingdom, where we will certainly find what we so keenly long for.”

Elisabeth Elliot, Keep a Quiet Heart, “Nevertheless We Must Run Aground”


The heartache of this world has been inescapable this past year.  Whether in my life or the lives of those I love, it seems as though another reason to despair knocks on my door each day.  Some things are small, like a teething child who won’t nap, and others are vast and devastating.

Sometimes I wonder if anything will ever work out the way I hope and plan.  Loneliness and sorrow can haunt me.  When I look at life, I sometimes feel hopeless.  That’s when the Lord reminds me that my hope is not in this life.

He has not made me to be satisfied with this world.  This heartache is given to me so that I will long for heaven, and more importantly for the One who makes heaven such a wonderful place.

My joy is not in my earthly blessings, although I have been given many.  My joy is in Jesus, who came to deliver me from my sinful idolatry of those very same blessings.

I freshly long for the day that He will deliver us from this world.  I long for our home in heaven.  Where  2 year-olds will not hit their baby brothers with toy tractors, where our ugly grudges against one another will be dissolved, where we will see and hold the babies that we’ve lost, and where Jesus Christ will finally receive the praise He deserves.

O come, Thou Key of David, come,
And open wide our heavenly home;
Make safe the way that leads on high,
And close the path to misery.

Rejoice! Rejoice!
Emmanuel shall come to thee, O Israel.

