Recently I have been substituting ground turkey for ground beef in several of my recipes because of its health benefits.  My local grocery store has also had some pretty good deals on ground turkey lately.

My husband, Mr. Fix-It, is more of a beef kind of guy, and doesn’t care for the turkey when he can taste the difference.  Necessity is the mother of invention; hence, my new trick.

Add tomato paste and Worcestershire sauce to any recipe in which you substitute ground turkey for ground beef.  It gives that nice, robust, beefy undertone that you miss with the ground turkey.

I usually use 1-2 Tbsp of tomato paste and 1-2 tsp of Worcestershire sauce per pound of ground turkey.

There have been several times that Mr. Fix-It has been surprised to learn that the meal he just ate was turkey!  Now that’s the kind of healthy eating we like at my house.  🙂

I skipped these ingredients in some turkey meatballs I made recently, and boy, were they a disappointment.  I’m curious to try them again with the tomato paste and Worcestershire sauce and see if it makes a difference.

Anyone else have tips for making healthy substitutes more appealing?

