I would attempt to explain my absence on the blog over the last several weeks, but I’m guessing that you’ve already figured out that blogging is among the many things that I only do halfway!

Since I wrote last, we’ve been blessed to move into a home of our own, and have been overwhelmed with all the projects that need to be done. We’ve also been hit with several illnesses, the most recent of which was a violent stomach bug that reached its crescendo the day before my husband left town for a week, and the day that our basement began to flood (again).

Needless to say, I have spent the last few weeks being:

  • an all-day pajama-wearing woman
  • a stick-my-kids-in-front-of-the-tv mom
  • a “I don’t care if it’s wrinkled, you can still wear it to work” wife
  • a boxed mac & cheese for dinner–ahem, again–cook
  • a lousy, faithless, never-able-to-earn grace daughter of the Lord

Wait, scratch that…

All those things may be true, BUT

“There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus. For the law of the Spirit of life has set you free in Christ Jesus from the law of sin and death. For God has done what the law, weakened by the flesh, could not do. By sending his own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh and for sin, he condemned sin in the flesh, in order that the righteous requirement of the law might be fulfilled in us, who walk not according to the flesh but according to the Spirit.” Romans 8:1-4

When God looks at me, He sees the perfect obedience of Jesus, even when I stumble or outright disobey Him. Try as I might, I never could be righteous on my own, and I never could earn God’s grace. But, God sees me as a forgiven sinner, perfectly and completely justified before Him.

When will I learn to define myself in God’s terms?

