I’ve written about this before. I love to cook. I am convinced that making meals from scratch using whole foods is the best thing for my family’s health and pocketbook. But, I can’t do it 365 nights a year. Who am I kidding–I can’t do it 7 days a week!

delivery pizza

Sometimes the Lord places us in extended seasons where we can’t keep up with our self-imposed standards. I find myself in one now. I think that God would be most glorified and my family would be best served if I could do it all. Obviously, He knows otherwise. Somehow, His power is being made perfect in my weakness.

So, instead of having a self-condemnation party, I’m trying to figure out how to make the best of this and glorify the Lord where He’s got me.

If I cook the way I want to cook, I end up too exhausted to clean up the dishes or do much of anything for a couple of days. Then we end up heading to the drive-through, and those are not even close to our house!

I’m trying to implement the halfway theory to my meals. If I use semi-prepared foods for some parts of my meal, and make other parts from scratch, it seems to be a pretty good happy medium for us.

Yesterday, I picked up a rotisserie chicken and foccacia from Sam’s club, and roasted fresh asparagus to go with it. It was delicious, relatively inexpensive, and I’m not dead from it today.

Tonight’s dinner is a crockpot chuck roast, instant mashed potatoes, and a microwave veggie pouch. I hate instant mashed potatoes, but real ones are probably too much. …That, and I just opened my potato bin that I stocked before I got sick, and there are quite a few rotten ones in there. Barf.

True story: I just burned the potato buds while writing this post!

I’m finding more and more that I need to bring out the frozen ravioli instead of the bread machine. And you know what? It won’t kill my kids, it won’t make me a bad mother, or a failure as a wife. It may make me a less happy foodie, but if I have the energy to match some of that sock mountain after dinner, it’s worth it.

Nothing in my hands I bring, simply to Thy cross I cling. Naked, come to Thee for dress. Helpless look to Thee for grace. To Thy fountain, Lord I fly. Wash me, Savior, or I die.

What are your favorite “halfway” dinners? Do you have any other “just getting by” suggestions? About anything? I’m flying by the seat of my pants these days. πŸ˜‰

