If you read my last post, you can probably tell that we need to work on some practical changes to our daily lives.  The Lord has also been convicting me of some new ways that I can seek to obey Him.

ducks in a row

To be honest, I can sometimes be afraid of “getting it together,” because I tend to idolize having all my ducks in a row.  You know what, though?  My sin isn’t in trying to change, it is in why I want to change.

If I want to reform my life to feel better about myself, or to control my circumstances, or to somehow improve my standing before God…change is worthless.

If I am keenly aware that my righteousness is solely found in Christ, regardless of my failures or successes, I have freedom to change without the burden of being perfect.

When we are rooted in the grace of God and the righteousness of Christ, we can obey the Lord out of love and gratefulness, not begrudging obligation or self-righteous morality.

So, as I make some changes and seek to restructure a few things, I pray that the Lord will help me remember to keep my confidence in Christ, not in myself.  And, if my confidence is in Him, my world won’t come crashing down when I fail.  In fact, those very failures will give me opportunity to point to Him.  “Jesus, all for Jesus.  All I am, and have, and ever hope to be.”

photo credit

